Reiki Power

Yvonne McSherry, Reiki Master Teacher ICHT.IIHHT.MASC.GRA RRP.BSYA(MED TEACH)
Email: ~ Tel: 01244 881 691

Chakras and Crystals





Chakra is a Sanskrit word which means 'wheel of light'.  Traditionally there are seven chakras and these are the energy centres of the etheric body.

The chakras are the seat of the senses, emotions and intellect.

Each chakra has its own purpose, association and connection.

Many who are familiar with chakra system or at least have heard about chakra system will know how important it is to have healthy chakras for our overall well-being. Unfortunately, the ever changing life style brings a lot of new stress levels that can block normal energy flow in our chakra system which in turn will have negative impact on all levels of our being.


The question than becomes how we can insure that our chakras are balanced.

While there are many different ways to heal and balance our chakra system in this article I will introduce the Reiki chakra balancing.

If compared to other similar energy healing arts Reiki differs, because this energy is believed to has its own intelligence and knows exactly where to go and what to do. In addition the Reiki practitioner doesn't use his own energy but rather universal life force energy or "spiritually guided life force energy".


So, how to balance chakras?

One of the most known techniques in the Reiki practice is so called full body treatment which usually consist of twelve main positions. These hand positions depending on Reiki style usually follow the location of the seven main chakras so that this alone ensures that our main chakras are supplied with balancing and healing energy.

However, it is possible to have more targeted work on chakras so that we can work on each single chakra and balance its both aspects, receiving and giving. This is very easily done by Reiki.

In addition, it is very good practice to balance seven main chakras daily to ensure we are always balanced and centered. This is very easily done with Reiki by paring the chakras.

There are few methods in use but all come down to holding one hand over one chakra and the other hand on the other chakras. The matching pattern may vary from practitioner to practitioner but usually it starts by paring the highest with the lowest chakra. So the sixth chakra is paired with first, fifth with second and fourth with third.

Chakra Balancing presents very simple yet very effective and important "tool",especially if we discover that one or more of our chakras are weak or blocked, that if used regularly could improve the qualityy of our life significantly.


7.Sahasrara - Crown
Sound - OM Shani
Element - Spirit
Colour - Violet.

Crown chakra, the seventh is linked with universal consciousness or pure spirit.

The symbol of infinity and is linked with the pineal gland.


6.Ajna - Forehead-Third eye
Sound - Om
Element - Mind
Colour - Indigo

Brow chakra known as the "Third Eye" is connected with the production of hormones



5.Vishuddha - Throat
Sound - Ham
Element - Ether
Colour - Blue

Throat chakra is linked to the thyroid gland and the body's metabolic rate



4.Anahata - Chest-Heart
Sound - Yam
Element – Air

Colour Green

Heart chakra generates pure emotions such as love, and is linked to the heart and the immune system.




3.Manipura - Stomach-Solar Plexus
Sound - Ram
Element - Fire
Colour - Yellow

Third chakra is the store of prana; it corresponds to the solar plexus and to the pancreas, which regulates blood sugar, the body's fuel.





2.Swadhishthana - Abdomen
Sound - Vam
Element - Water
Colour - Orange

a - Abdomen
Sound - Vam
Element - Water
Colour - Orange

Second chakra governs sexual nature and activity and the reproductive organs.




1.Muladhara - Pelvis/Coccyx
Sound - Lam
Element - Earth
Colour - Red

Base chakra is linked with a person's Kundalini, or psychic potential, and with the adrenal glands.